Skip Navigation. Skip to content Report an Incident LGBTQ+ Equity Center

Champion of Our Community Award

Past awardees

  • 2022 Christopher Pérez, Ph.D.
  • 2021 Michelle Farrell, Ph.D.
  • 2020 Jonathan Mohr
  • 2019 Sika Adzo Wheeler, Coordinator, LGBT Equity Center
  • 2018 Jeffrey Franke, Assistant Dean and Chief of Staff, The Graduate School
  • 2017 Carlton E. Green, Staff Psychologist, Counseling Center
  • 2016 Christina Hanhardt, Associate Professor, American Studies and Affiliate, Women's Studies/LGBT Studies
  • 2015 Conrad O. Zeutenhorst, Advisor, Education Abroad
  • 2014 Erin Iverson, Manager of Assignments and Public Inquiry, Department of Resident Life
  • 2013 Shige Sakurai, Associate Director, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Equity Center
  • 2012 Noah D. Drezner, Assistant Professor, Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education
  • 2011 Mark Brimhall-Vargas, Assistant Director, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • 2010 JV Sapinoso, Acting Assistant Director, LGBT Studies Program
  • 2009 Richard Madaleno, Jr., Maryland State Senator
  • 2008 Robyn Zeiger, Lecturer, Family Science
  • 2007 Sivagami Subbaraman, Associate Director, Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equity
  • 2006 Robert E. Waters Jr, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Special Assistant to the President
  • 2005 Laura Nichols, Assistant Director and Academic Advisor, Women's Studies
  • 2004 Brett Parson, Alumnus and Officer responsible for the Gay and Lesbian Liaison Unit, Metropolitan Police Department, District of Columbia
  • 2003 Jessica Xavier, Alumna; and Kitt Kling, Alumnus
  • 2002 Marilee Lindemann, Associate Professor of English; and Ruth E. Fassinger, Associate Professor of Counseling and Personnel Services
  • 2001 Vicky Foxworth, Director, Office for Organizational Effectiveness
  • 2000 Nancy Meyer, Chair of the Free State Justice Campaign
  • 1999 Nancy West, Primary Care Coordinator, Health Center
  • 1998 Luke Jensen, Chair of the President's Commission for Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Issues
  • 1997 M. V. Lee Badgett, Assistant Professor of Public Affairs