Skip Navigation. Skip to content Report an Incident LGBTQ+ Equity Center

Prism: the LGBTQ+ Staff, Faculty, and Graduate Student Association Awards

Champion of Our Community Award

The recipient of the Champion of Our Community award is an LGBTQ+ member of staff, faculty, or administration at UMD, who has made distinguished contributions to the LGBTQ+ communities.

Previous Awardees

  • 2022 Christopher Pérez, PhD
  • 2019 Sika Adzo Wheeler, Coordinator, LGBT Equity Center
  • 2018 Jeffrey Franke, Assistant Dean and Chief of Staff, The Graduate School
  • 2017 Carlton E. Green, Staff Psychologist, Counseling Center
  • 2016 Christina Hanhardt, Associate Professor, American Studies and Affiliate, Women's Studies/LGBT Studies
  • 2015 Conrad O. Zeutenhorst, Advisor, Education Abroad
  • 2014 Erin Iverson, Manager of Assignments and Public Inquiry, Department of Resident Life
  • 2013 Shige Sakurai, Associate Director, Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Equity Center
  • 2012 Noah D. Drezner, Assistant Professor, Counseling, Higher Education and Special Education
  • 2011 Mark Brimhall-Vargas, Assistant Director, Office of Diversity and Inclusion
  • 2010 JV Sapinoso, Acting Assistant Director, LGBT Studies Program
  • 2009 Richard Madaleno, Jr., Maryland State Senator
  • 2008 Robyn Zeiger, Lecturer, Family Science
  • 2007 Sivagami Subbaraman, Associate Director, Office of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender Equity
  • 2006 Robert E. Waters Jr, Associate Vice President for Academic Affairs and Special Assistant to the President
  • 2005 Laura Nichols, Assistant Director and Academic Advisor, Women's Studies
  • 2004 Brett Parson, Alumnus and Officer responsible for the Gay and Lesbian Liaison Unit, Metropolitan Police Department, District of Columbia
  • 2003 Jessica Xavier, Alumna; and Kitt Kling, Alumnus
  • 2002 Marilee Lindemann, Associate Professor of English; and Ruth E. Fassinger, Associate Professor of Counseling and Personnel Services
  • 2001 Vicky Foxworth, Director, Office for Organizational Effectiveness
  • 2000 Nancy Meyer, Chair of the Free State Justice Campaign
  • 1999 Nancy West, Primary Care Coordinator, Health Center
  • 1998 Luke Jensen, Chair of the President's Commission for Lesbian, Gay and Bisexual Issues
  • 1997 M. V. Lee Badgett, Assistant Professor of Public Affairs

Defender of Diversity Award

The recipient of the Defender of Diversity award is an ally to LGBTQ+ communities and a member of staff, faculty, or administration at UMD, who has made distinguished contributions to the LGBTQ+ communities.

Previous Awardees

  • 2022 Jazmin Pichardo
  • 2019 Shelby Renee Speer, Graduate Student Services Coordinator, Center for Student Engagement & Financial Resources at the Universities at Shady Grove
  • 2018 Alexis Y. Williams, Instructional Development Specialist, Teaching & Learning Transformation Center
  • 2017 Catherine A. Carroll, Director, Office of Civil Rights and Sexual Misconduct
  • 2016 Erin McClure, Chief of Staff, School of Public Health
  • 2015 Jenna Beckwith Messman, Sexual Health Program Coordinator, University Health Center
  • 2014 Bonnie Thornton Dill, Dean, College of Arts and Humanities
  • 2013 Kumea Shorter-Gooden, Chief Diversity Office and Associate Vice President
  • 2012 Deborah Grandner, Director, Department of Resident Life
  • 2011 Sally Koblinsky, Assistant President and Chief of Staff
  • 2010 Cordell W. Black, Associate Provost for Equity and Diversity
  • 2009 C. D. Mote, Jr., President, University of Maryland, College Park
  • 2008 Paul Dillon, Patrol Commander, Public Safety
  • 2007 Donna B. Hamilton, Associate Provost for Academic Affairs and Dean for Undergraduate Studies
  • 2006 Laura D. Scott, Organizational Development Specialist, Center for Leadership and Organizational Change
  • 2005 Susan Bayly, General Counsel, Office of Legal Affairs
  • 2004 Nancy Yeroshefsky, Assistant Director for Human Resources, Facilities Management
  • 2003 Gay Gullickson, Professor of History at the University of Maryland and Chair of the University Senate Human Relations Committee
  • 2002 Victor Korenman, Associate Provost at the University of Maryland
  • 2001 Sheila E. Hixson, Delegate to the Maryland Legislature
  • 2000 Marie S. Davidson, Chief of Staff to the President of the University of Maryland
  • 1999 Parris N. Glendening, Governor of the State of Maryland
  • 1998 William E. Kirwan, President of the University of Maryland
  • 1997 Sharon M. Grosfeld, Delegate to the Maryland Legislature
  • 1996 Margaret Alton, Regent of the University System of Maryland
  • 1995 Cheryl Kagan, Delegate to the Maryland Legislature
  • 1994 Hank Dobin and Art Eckstein, Professors at the University of Maryland

Graduate Student Involvement Award

The recipient of the Graduate Student Involvement Award is a graduate student at UMD who has been directly involved with LGBTQ+ communities at UMD.

Previous Awardees

  • 2022 Brenda Sorto-Baires
  • 2019 Mel. Coles, PhD program, American Studies
  • 2018 Anna M. Moncada Storti, PhD program, Women's Studies
  • 2017 Jamie C. Welch, PhD program, Counseling Psychology

Pride and Advocacy Award

The recipient of the Pride and Advocacy Award is someone who has demonstrated exceptional leadership during the past year resulting in a positive impact on UMD's campus LGBTQ+ communities. The recipient may be anyone, including undergraduate and graduate students, staff, faculty, administrators, and also alumni and friends of the campus.

Previous Awardees

  • 2022 Veena Aruldhas
  • 2019 Wesley Joy Isberner
  • 2018 Max Balagtas-Badoy
  • 2017 Charles F. Delwich